Turtle Beach Pla PS3/PC Cheap Gaming Headset Review

Image

I bought this ages ago, but it is such good value, and hasn’t broken yet, so I feel I should review it. To give you a bit of background, I have owned 3 cheap £3 headsets before this. Each broke in about 2 months. I have owned this one for 8 months with no problems at all. Bear in mind that I don’t chew the microphone, it surprises me to find that some people do. Well if you do, time for a table mic. Sorry.

All budget headphones/headsets have comfort issues, but I find this one a little above average. The earcups are very comfortable, and the top leather band good at first, but this top part of your head will start hurting eventually. This is due to the fact it isn’t very cushioned, and feels exactly the same as one without any padding at the top.

Sound quality is generally split into three parts for me, microphone quality, music, and gameplay. The microphone does not have any muffler, and is simply a piece of plastic with three holes in. Despite this, though, it has a very good sound quality, and background noise is not heard much. It is a bit quiet though, and if you are considering this for things like YouTube recording, I would suggest a different headset or a table mic. You could just use the amplify function in Audacity, or editing software of course.

Music quality sounds about the same as a budget hi-fi system, it has good highs, but the bass is not great. Gameplay is good, what more can I say. This is clearly designed for light gaming/skype only, and not for more demanding tasks like YouTube and long gaming sessions, or music sessions.

Amazon: 8.6/10 (4.3 stars)

My review: 8/10.

I would rate it higher if it was more comfortable.

Leave a comment