Corsair CX430M Modular Power Supply Review

I recently chose this and bought it as a replacement to my old failing power supply. I ordered it from Amazon, because it was the cheapest place I could find it.
The box was wrapped in film, and the box feels sturdy and looks good, great for keeping on display. Once opened, you will find the power cable for your countries socket, and the modular cables. There is 4 screws and some black cable ties that are easy to cut with scissors. These are designed for use inside the case, and not on power/peripheral cables outside it. I was dissapointed with the modular cable options, since I need an extra cable for my DVD drives sata connector. With the amount of people using an ssd, hdd, and dvd these days, it is a bit dissapointing. There are no 4 pin molexes unless you plug in yet another cable. On the bright side though, the cables are nicely made and the 24 pin is sleeved. Some people may want colour coded cables, and this psu doesn’t do that, so this is not great for modders making custom extension cables and adapters.
As always from Corsair, the build quality is great, and it is reliable. It is only aimed at gamers who want a good power supply quite cheap, so bear that in mind when purchasing. And don’t get that unbranded PSU. Please.

Leave a comment